Cancellations by a client:
If a client cancels when you've already started heading to the starting location, you can earn a cancellation fee if:
- At least 5 minutes have passed since you accepted the walk
When a client doesn't show up for their on-demand or scheduled walk, the Walker keeps the full scheduled walk amount. Clients have either:
- On-demand walks: 5 minutes to cancel, or
- Schedules Walks: 24 hours prior to the walk
Cancellations are a bad experience for all parties, so we recommend using discretion when cancelling walks.
Walkers can cancel a walk by tapping the 'cancel walk' button in the schedule walking appointment in the app. (see upcoming walks in the walker profile section of the app)
Of course, we know there are times when it's perfectly reasonable for you to cancel a walk you've already accepted, such as:
- You or a loved one has an emergency
- You’ve looked for and tried contacting a client but still don’t see them
When cancelling walks, remember that the People Walkers community is diverse, representing different generations, ethnicities, genders, sexual orientations, and religions. We encourage open-mindedness and mutual respect. Read more about our Anti-Discrimination Policies.
If you cancelled a walk for safety reasons or couldn’t contact a client (for example, if they said they were arriving but didn't or they never responded to you in our messaging section of the app), tap 'Contact Support' below to let us know.
Include the following:
- Requesting client name
- Time and date of walk
- Starting walk location